Bad Blogger No Cookie…well maybe just one cookie

I have not blogged in a while.  Bad Blogger.  Its been due to pain, holidays, holidays spent in pain, and family fun times. The holidays were rough for me.  I did not do well with the noise level at my honey’s family house.  They do not have inside voices.  I ended up in an upstairs bedroom in the dark crying.  Nothing says xmas like leaving a family function crying and in pain.  I have managed to keep up my allergy challenge diet even with holidays and family visits.

In the process of this diet I have learned a bit about my self.  On bad days I cope with food.  That is pretty limited for me now.  I used to cope by eating junk foods.  I am pretty sure there was a bad three months where I lived off Five Guys, Pei Wei, and Chipotle every day.  Five Guys Fries and Chipotle were top of the list.  Chipotle is not really ‘junk’ food as they have standards that the food has to meet and do a lot for organic options being part of their menu. Its still very high fat and not part of my allergy challenge diet.

Today I broke.  I had a bad day.  I forgot my pain medication in the morning so it was a bad day.  I really wanted cheese fries.  Like I would have gone crazy over a burger and fires to the point of tears.  As I recall I did a fair amount of crying this afternoon because I was so unhappy and I wanted food to comfort me.  My way of coping with stress is to self sooth with food.  Not the best  way to handle my stress but its been my way for 25+ years.  Hard to stop now.  I was steps away from going to find my cheese fries and feed this feeling of hurt some good old comfort food.

I ended up eating a bag of raw gluten free vegan Macaroons as my self soothing with food.  Its not the best choice since its a bit more sugar (maple syrup) than I should have but its way better than cheese fries.  I found a company that makes raw cookies that fit pretty close to my allergy challenge diet regulations and still tastes like a cookie.  I am now kind of hooked on them and may eat half another package before bed because I still hear the siren song of the cheese fries.

You can find and order the cookies here http://www.hailmerry.com/snacks

Also retested coconut milk and thats a go – makes a great smoothy and has good texture

Up next coconut flour and if I get stir crazy/adventurous butter or eggs.

 

 

Leave a Reply

