Apples, Pears, and Coconuts Oh My

It has been a bit since I updated.  So I have a few new things to add to the progress of the diet.  The test of raw apples was not good.  I think because of the acidity of the raw apples.  Tested cooked/baked apples.  The baked apples with honey and cinnamon were tasty but proved to have the same reaction as raw apples i.e. rosacea and upset tummy.

Pears dont seem to cause this reaction so I can still eat some fruit.  I have also had luck with raspberries in their fresh form as well.  Most of my sweet still comes from honey.  Some of the  specialized diets cut out honey but I cant seem to give it up.  I eat mostly raw unprocessed white honey but I still need sweet things.  Pre allergy challenge diet I had a major sweet tooth.  Some times I still come home and just eat a spoonful of raw honey to calm down the sugar cravings (I know that just continues my need for sweet things but I feel I will be so unhappy with out any sweets that its worth the continued small dependance on some sweetener)

Coconut Milk has been my latest test.  Some what inconclusive to say the least.  I have had no facial or digestive reaction to the milk but I have had to majorly bad days with my headaches.  This may be due in part to an emergency medication or a change in environment. So next week will be a retest of coconut milk.  I do hope that I can drink it because it makes a nice hot chai spiced drink.

Coconut Milk Fake Chai Latte

1 Tea Mug full of Unsweetened Unflavored (Un-fun) Coconut Milk

1 Tablespoon Clover Honey (processed honey but a very sweet honey works best for this drink)

1/8-1/4 teaspoon of Penzeys Pumpkin Pie Spice (China cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, ginger, mace, cloves) I usually put in like 4-6 shakes from the little jar.  I think thats about 1/8 a teaspoon. Adjust to your own tastes.

Heat Coconut Milk and Pumpkin Pie Spice in a sauce pan over med-low heat.  When warm add honey and stir until combined.  Heat until just under boiling and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

