Week Two

I have been trying to keep a record of the allergy challenge/elimination diet.  I have been trying to keep track of how my progress has been going in my head but that has just been too confusing.  A written recored need to start so I could keep track of how difficult / easy this was.  That is why week two is being posted so soon after week one.

Week two is harder than week one by far.  I have way more craving during week two.  During week two I start to hate TV commercials that have any type of food in them.  Any time I see food on TV I get angry.  Its totally irrational but I think of throwing some thing at the TV during a KFC comercial.   I don’t even like KFC.  My body has adjusted to the new diet better than my emotional state concerning food.

I have not really planned my meals for the last 5 or so months.  I would eat some things from our weekly grocery run but more often than not I would pick up dinner from one of three places when I was too tired to cook.  The staff at 5 Guys, Chipotle, and Pei Wei all got to know me by name.  This was not very good for my weight or my health it seems.  Cutting out my nightly dinner stop at a take out place was much harder than expected.

One night I was coming home from a conference and I had no dinner made.  I had been out all day.  I was exhausted and crying.  I called my folks and asked for help.  Asking for help is an important thing to do when starting a major life change.  My dad is Iron Chef Dad and in the time it took me to drive from the city he had cooked a fantastic meal.

Iron Chef Dad’s Lamb Burgers with carrot and cabbage slaw

Lamb Burgers

1 lbs ground lamb

4-5 cloves garlic minced

1 TBSP orango

1 TBSP Honey (This is my addition)

1 tsp olive oil

Combine all ingredients, cook in cast iron skilled with olive oil until browned and internal temp is above 160 degress

Carrot and Cabbage Slaw

3 carrots pealed and shredded

2 cups shredded cabbage

1 TBSP honey

1/2 tsp sea Salt

1 TBSP olive oil

heat oil in large skillet or wok, saute carrot and cabbage until just softened and warm, add honey and cook for 1-2 min, sprinkle with salt

Leave a Reply

